Facebook pixel About the Council | Pepperdine University | Graduate School of Education and Psychology Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Graduate School of Education and Psychology

About the Council

About the Superintendent Advisory Council

A consortium of state superintendents gathers for training, advocacy, and discourse regarding issues related to education. The superintendents also advise GSEP on teacher credentialing, administrative training, and master’s and doctoral programs.

Each year, in tandem with the Association of California School Administrators annual symposium, the Council hosts a dinner in Monterey, Calif. to present the Superintendent of the Year award as well as the Superintendent of Distinction award.

Past Superintendent Of the Year recipients include:

Dr. Gwen Gross, formerly with the Hermosa Unified School District (2005)

Dr. Robert Fraisse, formerly with the Conejo Valley Unified School District (2006)

Dr. Joseph D. Condon formerly with the Lawndale Elementary School District (2007)

Dr. Jody Dunlap, formerly with the Oxnard Union High School District (2008)

Dr. Sharon McClain, Del Mar Union School District (2009)

Dr. Trudy Arriaga, Ventura Unified School District (2010)

Ms. Cynthia Cervantes McGuire, Azusa Unified School District (2011)

Dr. George McKenna III, Los Angeles Unified School District, Local District 7 (2012)

Dr. Tom Johnstone, Wiseburn School District (2013)

Past Superintendent Of Distinction recipients include:

Dr. Jeffrey Felix, Coronado Unified School District (2010)

Dr. Johanna VanderMolen, formerly with Campbell Union School District (2010)

Mr. William M. Habermehl, Orange County Department of Education (2011)

Ms. Judy Ivie Burton, President and CEO of Alliance College-Ready Public Schools (2011)

Dr. Susan C. Parks, formerly with the San Gabriel Unified School District (2012)

Larry L. Powell, Fresno County Department of Education (2012)